Current Issue

IMPULSE is the first international, online neuroscience journal for undergraduate publications. Submissions are reviewed by students worldwide under faculty guidance, and articles are immediately published online as they are accepted. If you are interested in becoming a peer reviewer for IMPULSE, please contact us at impulse@appstate.edu.

ISSN: 1934-3361

AdobeYou will need Acrobat Reader to read the articles published in IMPULSE. If you do not already have Acrobat Reader, download here.


Meghan Pavelka (Appalachian State)

Executive Editor

Zoe Kaplan (Appalachian State)

Managing Editor

Samantha Everett (Appalachian State)

Executive Associate Editor

Sarah Snouse (Appalachian State)

Social Media Specialist

Courtney Quick (University of North Carolina at Asheville)

Associate Editor(s)

Charles Fennell (Appalachian State)

Mizan Gaillard (Brown University)

Prachi Mahableshwarkar (Carnegie Mellon University) 

Kate Brokaw (Furman University)

Chris Diak (Middlebury College)

Sabrina McAllister (Roanoke College)

Craig Irving (Salve Regina University)

Blake Brown (Simpson College)

Tommy Olson (St. Olaf College)

Om Uday Patel (The University of Alabama at Birmingham)

Jana Badrani (University of California, San Diego)

William Thomas (University of California, San Diego)

Cornel Vermaak (University of the Free State)

Johann Fourie (University of the Free State)

Lynde Wangler (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Matt Mattoni (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Daniel Gabriel (Sewanee: The University of the South)

Mara Cowan (University of South Carolina)

Jill Lesley (Wake Forest University)

Faculty Advisor(s)

HOST SITE: Appalachian State University

Mark C., Zrull Ph.D., Editorial Team Faculty Advisor and
Leslie Sargent Jones, Ph.D., Founding Faculty Advisor Emerita

Carlos Aizenman, Ph.D. 
Brown University, USA

Andrew Bellemer, Ph.D. 
Appalachian State University, USA

Daniel J. Brasier, Ph.D.
Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Jackie Brittingham, Ph.D.
Simpson College, USA

Katharine Cammack, Ph.D
The University of the South, USA

Kevin Crisp, Ph.D (for Jeremy Loebach, Ph.D.)
St. Olaf College, USA

Kim Cronise, Ph.D. 
Middlebury College, USA

Cristin Gavin, Ph.D. 
The University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA

David Nichols, Ph.D. 
Roanoke College, USA

Marsha Penner, Ph.D. 
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA

Jaime A. Pineda, Ph.D. 
University of California, San Diego, USA

Wayne Silver, Ph.D. 
Wake Forest University, USA

Deanna Smith, Ph.D. 
University of South Carolina, USA

Steven Symington, Ph.D. 
Salve Regina University, USA

Victoria Turgeon, Ph.D. 
Furman University, USA

Annelize Vorster, MB., Ch.B. 
University of the Free State, South Africa